I have a cold

When I close my eyes, white bursts of light pop up on my eyelids. My nose is blocked. I am unable to control the slow leaks that are slowly, but surely, irrigating my pillow. I want to relieve the pressure on my forehead. Maybe I could massage my temples. But wait, my chest aches.

It is 1:34 a.m.

What is it about being sick and strange dreams? Not dreams with subjects and narrative aspects. More like something out of cover art for a Robin Trower album. Dreams where the hue of copper modulates, and nothing else. I relish the journey.

I began to come down with something over the weekend. It was a mix of the usual suspects. My chest was scratchy, my lungs didn’t want to fully expand, my head ached..

Time passed. Shadows cast by the sodium vapor lights in the alleyway came and went. I was. I was. I was just lying in bed in our quarantined guest bedroom, waiting for the wal-flu to kick in, when Susie entered with Rosie in her arms.

“Daddy, daddy, daddy,” said Rosie, “I have a question.” Her voice was quiet, but full of concern. “Why aren’t you sleeping in our room?”

I think the reason was obvious, and I think Susie shared my opinion.

“I tried to tell her,” said Susie, “for about the last thirty minutes. I don’t know what to do. She won’t go to sleep.”

“Well, Rosie, I am sick. You know, like a cold. My throat hurts and I have a cough and I feel bad. Don’t worry, I’ll be back. And Samson is keeping me company.”

It was true. Samson had taken a spot in the room to watch my recovery. What a dog. By the way, life is bad for Samson right now. He is wearing a plastic collar. It looks sort of Elizabethan, but it keeps him from passing through narrow door ways or accessing his bowl.

Rosie thought for a second. And then she yawned.

“Let’s go to sleep,” she says to her mother.

– –

Sample of comments from today:

“What does genius mean?”

“I wish that I could make doing that illegal, and they could put you in jail.”

“Have you been to Thailand?”

Also, today was a huge milestone in our home.  We have entered the Dawn of the End of Diapers.

Leave a Reply

